General Information

Trinity County is located in the northernmost part of the state and encompasses approximately 3,200 square miles of rugged terrain steeped in the rich history of the California Gold Rush. The County takes its name from the Trinity River. The Trinity Alps Primitive Wilderness Area is situated in the northern portion of the county.

Trinity was one of the original 27 counties created by the state Legislature and, at the time, included a portion of present-day Siskiyou County as well as all of Humboldt and Del Norte counties. The county seat of Weaverville was by then one of the largest towns in California. An awareness of the county's pioneer history is reflected today by the National Historic District in Weaverville.

The total population of the county is 13,000.

The Superior Court of California, County of Trinity is a unified superior court, served by two judges, one family court mediator, and fourteen employees.

The Court has facilities in two locations:

Main Courthouse:

11 Court Street
P.O. Box 1258
Weaverville, CA 96093

Hayfork Branch:

6641 B State Hwy 3
P.O. Box 488
Hayfork, CA 96041

Trinity County Superior Court observes the following Court holidays:

  • New Year's Day
  • Martin Luther King, Jr. Birthday
  • Lincoln's Birthday
  • President's Day
  • Cesar Chavez' Birthday
  • Memorial Day
  • Independence Day
  • Labor Day
  • Columbus Day
  • Veteran's Day
  • Thanksgiving and the day after Thanksgiving
  • Christmas Day